Generated illustration of an imagined residential setting for the Libertyville resource
AI-generated illustration; does not depict an actual property or location.

Begin with the address in Libertyville

Libertyville (Census place 1743250) lies in Lake County on the January 1, 2024 boundaries; confirm that the parcel is inside the municipal limits before applying local rules.

Drainage and flooding questions appear in the local research; check the parcel's own floodplain and stormwater records. The local questions below return most often to utilities, legal use and permits.

Local requirements, with their limits visible

The 12 local questions below draw on official Libertyville and agency material checked on October 6, 2026; the sources do not establish parcel-specific compliance. Confirm the current requirements for utilities with the responsible authority.

When preparing an offer or sale, confirm the current procedure, responsible party, required documents and timing for the exact property. Older documents, unreadable sources and conflicts require confirmation with the responsible office before relying on them.

  • Parcel conditions, threshold calculations and current ordinance amendments require Engineering review.
  • Check open permits and final inspection status for the address with the Village, and confirm whether any resale inspection applies.
  • Exact utility service jurisdiction and closing balance require address/account confirmation.
  • Check current parking rates, availability and train schedules before deciding.
  • Sources do not establish property-specific compliance or a professional's credentials.
Reported home value
$512,000
Monthly owner costs, with mortgage
$3,324

ACS 2020–2024, municipality-wide medians in 2024 inflation-adjusted USD. Open-ended medians display a lower bound. These figures are not a current home valuation or a financing quote.

Housing types
The ACS estimates 7,925 housing units in Libertyville. Largest structure categories: 1 unit, detached: 5,394 (± 250), about 68%; 1 unit, attached: 734 (± 138), about 9%; 50+ units: 438 (± 134), about 6%. Source 1
Construction periods
Of 7,925 estimated units, the largest construction periods are 1970 to 1979: 1,967 (± 213), about 25%; 1980 to 1989: 1,405 (± 241), about 18%; 1950 to 1959: 796 (± 209), about 10%; about 9% were built in 1939 or earlier. Source 1
Reported home value
The median value reported for owner-occupied units in Libertyville is $512,000 (± $27,432), in 2024 inflation-adjusted dollars. Source 1 · Source 2
Monthly owner costs
Median selected monthly owner costs are $3,324 (± $154) with a mortgage and $1,480 (± $120) without one. Source 1 · Source 2 · Source 3
County context
The 2024 Census polygons place Libertyville in Lake County; verify the parcel's county and taxing bodies in official records. Source 1 · Source 2
How to read these numbers → Compare Libertyville with other municipalities →

THE HOMES BEHIND THE NUMBERS

Explore Libertyville’s housing stock.

Look at the estimated mix of buildings and construction periods, then use it to shape your property research.

ACS 2020–2024 · Estimated housing units · Tap or focus a row to inspect it.

Select a row for its estimate and uncertainty. A municipality-wide distribution does not describe every individual property.

Read both housing distributions as tables
Libertyville · Building types · ACS 2020–2024
CategoryEstimated unitsMargin of error, unitsShare, point estimate
1 unit, detached5,39425068.1%
1 unit, attached7341389.3%
2 units2251042.8%
3–4 units3191294.0%
5–9 units267993.4%
10–19 units2891053.6%
20–49 units2591013.3%
50+ units4381345.5%
Mobile home0240.0%
Boat, RV, van, etc.0240.0%
Libertyville · Construction periods · ACS 2020–2024
CategoryEstimated unitsMargin of error, unitsShare, point estimate
2020 or later37270.5%
2010 to 20192801163.5%
2000 to 20096181497.8%
1990 to 19997531759.5%
1980 to 19891,40524117.7%
1970 to 19791,96721324.8%
1960 to 19696551388.3%
1950 to 195979620910.0%
1940 to 19496741898.5%
1939 or earlier7401939.3%

Shares use the category estimate divided by its table total. Displayed margins of error apply to the unit counts; percentage uncertainty has not been derived. Read the original Census data · Data definitions.

YOUR QUESTIONS, ROOTED IN THE PLACE

Buying and selling in Libertyville.

12 local research questions

Local research · Buyers & sellers

Does a Libertyville yard or driveway project need more than a building permit?

Libertyville’s Engineering Division requires review for grading, drainage, changes to impervious area, underground utilities and work in the public right of way. Its examples include driveway changes, yard drains, retaining walls and altered sump discharge. A separate watershed development permit may apply under the Lake County ordinance, including work in floodplains or wetlands and certain larger disturbances. The village asks for a survey and project information, with engineering plans when required. Before buying a property with planned outdoor changes, ask Engineering which permits apply to the exact scope and check whether existing work has corresponding approvals.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyers & sellers

What should a Libertyville buyer ask about the final inspection on recent renovations?

Ask for the permit and inspection history, including whether the project received its required final inspections. Libertyville says all permitted work requires inspections, that the permit holder is responsible for requesting them in the proper construction sequence, and that each permit identifies its required inspections. Requests generally need at least twenty-four hours’ notice. The village recommends withholding final contractor payment until final inspections are approved. For an unfinished seller project, identify the permit holder and contact Building before closing to clarify remaining inspections. A permit application alone does not establish that the work was completed and inspected.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyers & sellers

How far ahead should a Libertyville homeowner arrange water service at a move?

Notify Libertyville’s Water Billing Department at least three working days before starting or ending service at a Libertyville property. The village accepts an online request or a phone request and then schedules staff to obtain the initial or final reading. Coordinate the requested service date with the closing and possession dates, and retain the billing confirmation for your records. Billing questions go to Finance, while system maintenance questions belong to Public Works Water and Sewer. Ask the village to confirm which account services apply to the property before treating the seller’s bill as your future budget.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyers & sellers

How do downtown Libertyville and Prairie Crossing commuter parking differ?

Libertyville’s downtown Metra lot uses permits, and the Police Department maintains a waiting list when it reaches capacity. Some daily spaces and the Newberry lot have resident vehicle-sticker conditions; additional unused downtown spaces become available after the posted morning threshold. Prairie Crossing, at Route 137 and Midlothian Road, offers daily parking and a monthly convenience pass, with separate overnight arrangements. Before choosing a home around one station, compare the current lot rules, permit availability and walking or driving route. Check Metra’s current timetable separately; a parking option does not establish train frequency or travel time.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyers & sellers

Does a Libertyville improvement fit the lot-coverage limit?

Libertyville Planning checks coverage for driveways, patios, private sidewalks, pools, firepits and retaining walls, as well as structure dimensions. Give staff a plat of survey and the complete design before treating a large yard as buildable space. Confirm the calculation for this parcel before committing to a purchase or contractor.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyers & sellers

What Libertyville historic review should I establish before exterior alterations?

Libertyville publishes a Certificate of Appropriateness guide for exterior design review in a historic district. Ask Community Development whether the actual property and proposed materials fall within that process, and obtain the required decision before work. A historic description in a listing does not establish the property’s designation or project approval.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyer questions

Does a Libertyville address establish one school pathway?

Libertyville identifies District 70 for most elementary residents and District 73 for some southern residents; high-school District 128 includes both Libertyville and Vernon Hills schools. Take the exact address, child’s grade and enrollment year to the relevant districts before relying on a listing’s school names. Municipal identity alone does not assign a campus.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyer questions

Should a Libertyville budget include stormwater charges beyond property taxes?

Libertyville explains that its stormwater fee is a utility charge tied to impervious surface rather than assessed value. A subdivision detention facility does not eliminate the charge because runoff still uses the wider drainage system. Obtain the property’s actual utility account and ask staff about its classification before estimating recurring ownership costs.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyers & sellers

How do I check a Libertyville service line’s recorded material?

Libertyville’s April 2025 replacement plan describes an address inventory assembled from available records and points to a live dashboard for updated information. Check the actual address and ask the Village to clarify unknown or disputed material. The dated plan and inventory help research a line; neither replaces an inspection of the private plumbing.

Confirm current applicability · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyer questions

How does Libertyville’s flood-insurance participation affect address research?

Libertyville reports participation in FEMA’s Community Rating System and tells policyholders to confirm applicable savings with their insurer. Establish that the property is within the Village and review its effective FEMA map and policy separately. The community’s rating describes a program benefit; it does not certify an individual home’s flood history or eliminate drainage risk.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyer questions

Does a Libertyville home business need a local occupancy application?

Libertyville’s FAQ says home-based businesses must apply for occupancy, even though the Village does not issue a general business license. Describe the business and address to Community Development before buying on a home-office or client-visit assumption. Confirm the permitted use and any construction review separately; an occupancy application is not approval of all proposed activities.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Local research · Buyer questions

Which tax record should I use for a Libertyville ownership budget?

For a verified Lake County Libertyville parcel, use the county’s property-tax tools and Treasurer rather than the Village’s levy alone. Match the parcel identification and bill year, and review the assessment and exemptions separately. A seller’s bill is a historical account of that parcel and taxpayer; it does not guarantee the buyer’s later exemption eligibility.

Address-dependent research · Checked 2026-10-06 · Source 1

Sources and effective dates

Read the original guidance and use the version applicable to your property and transaction. Practical planning suggestions are distinguished from legal or program requirements.

  • 2020–2024 ACS table B25024: Units in structure · U.S. Census Bureau

    2024 ACS five-year release, covering 2020–2024. Estimates and 90% margins of error come from the official table-based Summary File. Not current sales or listing data.

    Source checked · United States; Illinois municipalities
  • 2020–2024 ACS table B25034: Year structure built · U.S. Census Bureau

    2024 ACS five-year release, covering 2020–2024. Estimates and 90% margins of error come from the official table-based Summary File. Not current sales or listing data.

    Source checked · United States; Illinois municipalities
  • 2020–2024 ACS table B25077: Median value, owner-occupied housing units · U.S. Census Bureau

    2024 ACS five-year release, covering 2020–2024. Estimates and 90% margins of error come from the official table-based Summary File. Not current sales or listing data.

    Source checked · United States; Illinois municipalities
  • 2020–2024 ACS table B25088: Median selected monthly owner costs, by mortgage status · U.S. Census Bureau

    2024 ACS five-year release, covering 2020–2024. Estimates and 90% margins of error come from the official table-based Summary File. Not current sales or listing data.

    Source checked · United States; Illinois municipalities
  • 2024 TIGER/Line Shapefiles · U.S. Census Bureau

    Legal boundaries and names are dated January 1, 2024. Full geometry determines the research county overlay; generalized display geometry cannot determine a parcel jurisdiction.

    Source checked · United States; Illinois
  • 2024 TIGER/Line technical documentation · accuracy, citation and reuse

    Issued September 2024. Sections 1.1–1.2 describe accuracy limitations, statistical boundary use, the registered trademark, citation and federal work reproduction.

    Source checked · United States
  • 2024 ACS subject definitions · housing values and owner costs

    2024 definitions and Appendix A document the survey universes, inflation adjustment and open-ended medians. A survey owner-cost measure is distinct from a visitor's current budget and maintenance reserve.

    Source checked · United States
  • Change to condominium and HOA questions · U.S. Census Bureau

    December 2025 note about the 2024 questionnaire: required HOA fees were added to the condominium-fee question. Use caution comparing selected monthly owner costs to pre-2024 data.

    Source checked · United States
  • Engineering Permit Documents and Information

    The source does not state an effective date; confirm current instructions with the issuing authority before the transaction.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Inspections

    The source does not state an effective date; confirm current instructions with the issuing authority before the transaction.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Utility Billing

    The source does not state an effective date; confirm current instructions with the issuing authority before the transaction.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Commuter Parking

    The source does not state an effective date; confirm current instructions with the issuing authority before the transaction.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Planning Division

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Applications, Forms and Guides

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Education

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Stormwater FAQs

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Lead Service Replacement Plan

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • FEMA Community Rating System and Flood Insurance

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Department FAQs

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois
  • Lake County Property Taxes

    No comprehensive version certification; follow current department guidance for the address.

    Source checked · Libertyville, Illinois

Confirm current Falcon coverage for your exact property. This resource does not establish a service-area, school, legal-unit or parcel determination.